2 comments on “Core Before or Core After?

  1. This is a great blog subject Josh. I like this journal article:

    *Nuzzo et al. 2008. Trunk Muscle Activity During Stability Ball and Free Weight Exercises. Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research, Volume 22, Issue 1, Pages 95-102.

    It reports high amounts of trunk activity associated with squats and pulls from the floor. During these lifts I personally feel my abs working stabilization when I lift close to my 1RM. So I hit abs last on heavy lifting days. However, I really relate with your thoughts on post-activation potentiation with core when it comes to endurance and less intense lift phases (I like your Hodgson 2005 reference**). I like to fatigue my core prior to endurance running. It increases neuromuscular awareness of my core during my runs. The biofeedback helps me maintain/improve my technique. Thank you for your thoughts. I like your blog site 🙂

    * http://journals.lww.com/nsca-jscr/Abstract/2008/01000/Trunk_Muscle_Activity_During_Stability_Ball_and.15.aspx

    ** http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16026172

Leave a Reply

